Be your own Girl Boss

There are only so many times that you can start a blog post with “sorry I have been away” before it gets old and boring so I’m going to skip that bit and jump straight in (but I am sorry). As I have mentioned before I am now nearly half way through my Masters (where has the time gone?!)

Amongst the craziness that has been the last three months I have submitted just under 9,000 words, met some of the best people and got a little bit too drunk. Whilst completing my magazine portfolio I had to write a 150 word piece.15590247_10210595311346404_1375900136074256225_n

Now, I don’t know about you but my ethos is why say something in 5 words when you can say it in 25. I am chatty as it is so to try and fit a whole piece into 150 words wasn’t an enjoyable learning curve. Just to give you an idea, up until this point, this post is 163 words. In the busiest but best time I have ever had I considered writing a ‘letter to yourself’ piece.

Whilst trying to find someone who would be willing to be interviewed so I could write the piece, it made me think what would I say to myself? I have read some of these pieces and I know how cheesy they can be but it really struck a chord!

I was never the kid at the front of the class, answering questions or doing extra reading to make my homework the best it could be. I was more interested in working out how to dye my hair blue behind my parents back or gossiping about the boy I fancied or worried about what I had eaten that day. I wouldn’t say I was even interested in education up until I did my GCSE’s.

But, whilst I was never the kid asking why, I always wondered it. I stayed quiet because I didn’t want to come across as an inconvenience or I didn’t want to seem stupid. I mean this worry of being an inconvenience has carried through to adult life to some extent (anyone can walk into me and I’ll always be the first to apologise).

I think I saw myself as ‘not the academic type’ or I didn’t think I would get friends that way. And where does this idea come from? That if you ask questions or you are interested in what you are learning you are a geek?

Statistically speaking, girls do better in education at every level- for a multitude of reasons. But they are also more likely to experience physiological bullying or discouragement in the classroom. There’s such a culture now of girls going out into the world and owning what they do, so at what level does this attitude change?

As Sophia Amouso said in #GIRLBOSS “Abandon anything about your life and habits that might be holding you back. Learn to create your own opportunities. Know that there is no finish line; fortune favours action. Race balls-out toward the extraordinary life that you’ve always dreamed of, or still haven’t had time to dream up. And prepare to have a hell of a lot of fun along the way.” (If you haven’t read it…DO!)

I think even as I look at where I am now, I am in a place that I didn’t dream I would be, I still don’t think it’s real or that I deserve it but I know I got here through hard work. So why do I feel bad about saying that?

13718750_10209189613404834_7226046506304131857_n

If I could say something to my 14 year old self it would just be, be more fearless, be less bothered about what you look like and more bothered about what you know because that is so much more important. Not to steal anything from Nike but just do it and completely own it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

